Then Comes Seduction (Huxtable Quintet, #2) by Mary Balogh

Although I am a long time Regency reader, I had never read a Mary Balogh book until I received First Comes Marriage as a Goodreads Giveaway.  I enjoyed the book so much, I had to read the rest of the series.

Book two starts out with a thoroughly unlikeable hero.  While foxed, Lord Montford makes a wager to seduce an innocent . . . specifically, the youngest Huxtable sister, Katherine.  Although I could have forgiven him for making the wager while drunk, he planned to follow through even after he was sober.

The story does not take up again until three years later.  I guess that was to give Montford the opportunity to grow up.  Of course, he and Katherine meet again.  Of course, the scandal comes to light.  And, of course, they end up having to marry.

I sound very negative about this book, but I really did like it.  I also like the fact that this series does not follow the siblings in the predictable order of their birth.  Vanessa, in the first book, is the middle daughter and the second oldest.  Katherine is the youngest daughter and the third by age.

Some series can easily be read in any order.  At least, that is what I have heard other people say.  Personally, I am compulsive about reading books in order.  Anyway, this series really needs to be read in the order intended.  There are reoccurring characters and numerous references to earlier books.  I am glad that all of the books have been published and I am able to read them back to back.

**copy obtained from public library


Leave a comment

Filed under Historical, Regency, Romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s